A Long Way from Heaven

The first in the unputdownable and heartbreaking Feeney Family sagas, perfect for readers of Val Wood, Nadine Dorries or Rosie Goodwin

One fateful morning in August 1846, Patrick Feeney surveys his ruined potato crop and despairs.

With a delicate wife and their unborn child, he has no choice but to leave Ireland and set out for England in search of work. But from the moment Patrick and Mary set foot in Liverpool, they are beset by new trials.

After moving to York, they are forced to settle in the nightmarish slums of Walmgate. Yet the very poverty and hopelessness of their surroundings binds the small community together. Only stubborn determination survive tragedy can win them hopes of a better life….

Peopled with rich and colourful characters, A Long Way From Heaven is a fresh, unpredictable saga of passion, struggle and humour.

‘Genuinely perceptive portrayals of human relationships’ Irish Independent



I think this is definitely going to be a love it or hate it book simply based on comfortableness with the culture. Growing up in an Irish home and inundated with its literature, music, movies and history for as long as I can remember for me this was familiar. I can still hear my father’s Irish brogue that would break out when he’d sing or read certain things with similar prose so I loved Sheelagh Kelly’s writing, phraseology, and word choices.

 I felt the author did a great job really immersing you in 1800s Ireland along with the horror of the potato crop failures that nearly destroyed a nation. I loved the descriptions and hated them at the same time because the vividness of the sorrow and devastation created here reminded me of what my family went through; the permanent scar it left upon our culture.

 I felt the struggle of what the people had to endure and how much harder it could get if they left seeking survival was accurately captured here. It’s not an easy book to get through when you have a personal connection to one of the worst acts visited upon humanity but this book handled that difficult time with grace and respect to those who went through it and its survivors.

 I’m looking forward to the next book to find out where she’ll be taking the family saga next.

 Thank you to Netgalley and Canelo for allowing me to review this book.

 Buy on Amazon: http://a.co/8TTXLCy

*synopsis and pic from netgalley.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s