Body on Baker Street


Gemma Doyle and Jayne Wilson are busy managing the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium on Baker Street and adjoining Mrs. Hudson’s Tea Room in anticipation of the store’s upcoming book signing with the illustrious Renalta Van Markoff, author of the controversial Hudson and Holmes mystery series. But during the author Q&A session, dedicated Sherlockian Donald Morris verbally attacks Renalta and her series for disgracing Sherlock’s legacy, only to be publicly humiliated when the author triumphantly lashes back and gains the upper hand. That is until Renalta collapses on the table—dead.

Donald insists he didn’t do it and pleads to his friends to clear his name. Fortunately, Gemma and Jayne have no shortage of suspects between author’s bullied personal assistant, her frustrated publicist, the hapless publisher, a handsome rare book dealer, an obsessively rabid fan, and a world of other Sherlock enthusiasts with strong objections to Renalta’s depiction of the Great Detective. It’s up to the shrewd sleuthing duo to eliminate the impossible and deduce the truth before the West London police arrest an innocent man in Body on Baker Street, the second Sherlock Homes Bookshop mystery perfect for fans of Miranda James and Kate Carlisle.

Vicki Delany introduced us to Gemma Doyle and the Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium in her first novel which I loved. Happily she continues her new series with this follow up which proved to be just as delightful.

I ended up blissfully binging my way through this well-written mystery deep into the night without a regret. I adored her first book and unbelievably liked this one even more with its suspenseful plot, fast pace and charming characters. I hope Delany keeps this series going as it’s hard to find books with this kind of fun, easy going charm; a more modern clean mystery in the vein of the beloved Father Brown Series.

I love how detailed she makes her settings from the way a character looks to the food they eat which adds to the fun as Delany makes you feel like you’re a part of Gemma’s world. I liked that her writing made it difficult to know the answers until the end so my curiosity was piqued at her latest page turning mystery with her female version of a Sherlock Holmesesque archetype.

A fun little Easter Egg: If you look on the cover, which is a picture of the Bookshop’s window, on the far left of the bottom shelf is her first book on display. I thought that was a cute addition to the illustration.

Thank you to Netgalley and Crooked Lane Books for allowing me to review this book.

Find at Amazon:

*synopsis and pic from


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s