Scattered Screams

on

For fans of The Walking Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and 28 Days Later, Scattered Screams is a diverse take on post-apocalyptic thrillers…

Their cross-country college visit was supposed to be a bonding experience between Marcus and son, Ali.

Then, the Disruption triggered.

Marcus, Ali, and Vic (Ali’s best friend) would have never imagined the sunny summer afternoon on campus would turn into the fight for their lives.

Now the world is split into two parts: before and after the Disruption.

The new world is akin to a war zone. But a war zone with no clear sides. Allies and foes might be one in the same as everyone attempts to survive.

Marcus’s quest to return home to New York City with Ali and Vic before the new disrupted world chips away at their humanity. They attempt to make it across 3,000 miles of terrain that is covered with mutants, enemies and otherworldly threats.

Lines of communication are disabled. The home they strive to return to may not exist anymore.

In a world surrounded by danger and violence, the only constant are the Scattered Screams.



If you’re into post-apocalyptic, zombie type books then this might be up your alley and worth a look particularly since it’s the first in a series so there’s more to come.

The plot starts off with a bang and keeps exploding out as the world and characters have to adjust rapidly to keep up with all the sudden changes. It reminded me a lot of some of the action movies I’ve seen because it has that same style where there is a lot of focus on the big scenes but not much exploration of the smaller details. Such as there never seemed to be a decent reason for the big cataclysmic event, you’re just supposed to accept it’s happened and move on.

The character work wasn’t too bad particularly the development of the familial relationships; the author did a good job of creating realistic interactions and examining how people might react when everything is going to hell. The characters didn’t start off that great but definitely got better as you push deeper into the story so you just have to start off accepting things as they are.

The zombies seemed to follow all the prototypical behavior we’ve seen before, sometimes you have to just go with it when it seems implausible.

It has a few problems so I can see this being one of those books people are either going to love or hate. I’m holding out my final opinion until I read more of the series because I’m hoping a lot of the holes in the storyline will be answered in a later book.

Thank you to Netgalley and Captain of My Ship Publishing for allowing me to review this book.

Find at Amazon:

*synopsis and pic from netgalley.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s