Guilty

It begins with a phone call. It ends with a missing child.

On a warm summer’s morning, thirteen-year-old school girl Constance Lawson is reported missing.

A few days later, Constance’s uncle, Karl Lawson suddenly finds himself swept up in a media frenzy created by journalist Amanda Bowe implying that he is the prime suspect.

Six years later …

Karl’s life is in ruins. His marriage is over, his family destroyed. But the woman who took everything away from him is thriving. With a successful career, husband and a gorgeous baby boy, Amanda’s world is complete. Until the day she receives a phone call and in a heartbeat, she is plunged into every mother’s worst nightmare.

An utterly compelling psychological thriller that will keep you guessing to the very last page. Perfect for fans of Louise Jensen, Claire Douglas and Sarah Denzil’s Silent Child.



A hypnotic psychological thriller culminating in the perfect ending for a revenge driven storyline. When you first begin this book by Elliot it seems to be the very definition of page turner as you are quickly pulled into the fast pace of this multi-part story.

Most of this book is very good with powerful characters and the kind of plot all mystery fans would die for. It grips you tight in the prologue then keeps peeling back layers of tension as you dive deeper into this dark tale of a young girl who has gone missing and the questions surrounding what involvement, if any, does a family member have in her disappearance. You also get the viewpoint of the journalist who is in a frantic pursuit of the truth regardless of who has to get mowed down to get there. Seeing the incredible influence the media has on how a investigation might go or who the public thinks is guilty even without proof is staggering. No longer do we practice innocent until proven guilty, now you’re tried by the media with no chance to testify on your own behalf. We also see the damage that gets left in the wake of pursuing a story at all costs with no thought of the repercussions to destroying lives for ratings.

As I said, MOST of the book is very good, where the tone changes is in the latter half. It seems like the author expended all the energy up front to get you in the door but then wore out with the back off as it becomes more tedious than tense. I found myself skipping pages ahead just to move the story along and not feeling like I missed much in between. The last 1/4 or so picks back up again so I felt this was a good use of my time.

I would recommend reading it just so you can really think about the power the media has in our everyday lives to the point we don’t question anymore what we hear from the journalists – even when they could be wrong.

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for allowing me to review this book.

Find at Amazon:

*synopsis and pic from netgalley.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s