The Mistake

You think you know the truth about the people you love.

But one discovery can change everything…

Eight-year-old Billy goes missing one day, out flying his kite with his sister Rose. Two days later, he is found dead.

Sixteen years on, Rose still blames herself for Billy’s death. How could she have failed to protect her little brother?

Rose has never fully recovered from the trauma, and one of the few people she trusts is her neighbour Ronnie, who she has known all her life. But one day Ronnie falls ill, and Rose goes next door to help him… and what she finds in his attic room turns her world upside down.

Rose thought she knew the truth about what happened to Billy. She thought she knew her neighbour. Now the only thing she knows is that she is in danger…

The Mistake is a completely gripping thriller that will keep you up all night, from the top ten bestselling author of BlinkLiar and Safe with Me. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Not too long ago I discovered K. L. Slater and understood why she seems to consistently make Bestseller lists as she knows how to write books with addictive plots, surprising twists and characters that know how to amp up the shock value.

The Mistake may be in the mystery genre but that isn’t the main point of this story – Slater firmly puts the focus on creating tense, thrilling moments that engage the senses and creating exciting visual experiences.

As a parent of young children I was a little concerned I wouldn’t be able to handle this well since the premise involves finding the body of a young child the same age as my daughter; sometimes that stuff hits a little close to the fear front. Thankfully Slater handled the story well and she doesn’t make his death into some graphic exhibition but rather a more intrinsic look at how did the boy disappear and die.

Slater, like always, created well-developed characters that acted believably and with appropriate motivations. Even when they weren’t all that likable those flaws fit well into the story and helped move the plot along at a decent pace.

The Mistake is full of great twists and turns with an old school creepy feel that is reminiscent of a time when authors had to engage the mind with its own need to be shocked rather than resort to cheap theatrics. Slater is one whose works you’ll want to immerse yourself in during this Halloween season.

Thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for allowing me to review this!

Find at Amazon:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s