Save a Truck, Ride a Redneck

Molly Harper brings her signature “clever humor, snark, silliness, and endearing protagonists” (Booklist) to the charming small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia with the new Southern Eclectic series.

Carl and Marianne were high school sweethearts, loving the way only teenagers can—with no thought to logic or pride, just a bone-headed, optimistic frenzy of unicorns and hormones. That was all they needed. Or so Carl thought.

Scared of being stuck in Lake Sackett, Georgia, like so many of her friends—without a real shot at a future or achieving her own dreams—Marianne panicked and bolted to college after stomping Carl’s heart into the high grass. But when she returns to Lake Sackett for the summer with her family after years away, she and Carl are drawn together like moths to a flame. As they rekindle their old romance and remember what it was like to be in love, they have to wonder: is this, finally, their real chance at happiness?

Perfect for fans of Kristan Higgins and Amy E. Reichert, this warmhearted and witty love story introduces Molly Harper’s new Southern Eclectic series set in the small town of Lake Sackett, Georgia. This story about second chances proves that “Molly Harper never lets the reader down with her delightfully entertaining stories. Humor, emotions, and romance are cleverly matched, and her likable characters are most appealing” (SingleTitles).



I had never read a book by Molly Harper before but had seen her name quite a bit come up on my “If you like this author you should like these” lists so I figured I’d give her a chance. I was glad I took the opportunity because in a world that gets increasingly crazy and dark, Harper provides a respite with a sweet romance.

Well-written with interesting characters who allow us to feel their emotional highs and lows I was able to connect with the characters to enjoy the story even more. I remember my own need to get out of home and move onto bigger places and things so that probably helped me relate to Marianne a little more.

Another plus for this is that it’s incredibly short so it’s the perfect thing to capture your attention while you’re waiting at an appointment or need something relaxing to help you unwind at night because you’ll be able to drift off to pleasant dreams and at a decent hour when you finish. The downside of course is that everything has to move faster than reality would allow and you don’t get much time with the story but at least what little we get is well-written with heart and humor to provide you with a feel-good romance.

Harper captured that feeling of southern charm in this quick novella that gives you a wonderful taste of Harper’s talent. I’m definitely interested in reading more by her now that I know she is worth all the great reviews I’ve seen about her.

Thank you to Netgalley and Pocket Star for allowing me to review this!

Find at Amazon:

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s